21.—Legislatures and Premiers of Saskatchewan, 1934-54, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1954

Legislatures, 1934-541

Date of		Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of		
Election			of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution		
June	19, 1934 8, 1938 15, 1944 24, 1948 11, 1952	8th General Assembly	6 5 5	Nov. 15, 1934 Jan. 19, 1939 Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953	May 14, 1938 May 10, 1944 May 19, 1948 May 7, 1952		

¹ The Ministries from 1934-54 were: 6th Ministry, sworn in July 19, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. J. G. Gardiner, 7th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 1, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. Patterson; 8th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. T. C. Douglas.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1954.

Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 11, 1952: 42 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 11 Liberals.)

Note, -See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development	Hon. T, C. Douglas	July	10,	1944	July Nov.		
Provincial Treasurer	Hon, C, M. Fines. Hon, J. W. Corman	July July		1944 1944	July July		1944 1944
Minister of Mineral Resources Minister of Highways and Trans-	Hon. J. H. BROCKELBANK	July	4000	1944	Aug. Apr.	1,	1948 1953
portation	Hon. J. T. Douglas Hon. W. S. Lloyd			1944 1944	July July		1944 1944
Rehabilitation Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. J. H. Sturdy	July	10,	1944 1944	Aug. Aug.	4,	1948 1948
Minister of Labour	Hon. C. C. WILLIAMS. Hon. I. C. NOLLET.	Feb.	26,	1944 1945	Aug. Feb.	26,	1948 1945
Minister of Public Health Minister of Telephones	Hon, J. A. Darling. Hon, T. J. Bentley. Hon, A. G. Kuziak.	Nov.	14,	1949	Aug. Nov. Oct.	14,	
Provincial Secretary	Hon. J. W. BURTON	Oct.			Oct.		

Subsection 9.—Alberta

The Government of the Province of Alberta is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor, the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable John J. Bowlen, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office Feb. 1, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 96.

There are 61 members of the Legislative Assembly who are elected for a maximum period of five years.

The salary of the President of the Executive Council is \$11,000 and of a Cabinet Minister \$8,500. A special allowance of \$2,500 is paid to the Leader of the Opposition. The sessional indemnity for each Member of the Legislative Assembly is \$2,400 plus an expense allowance of \$1,200.